Laura Maria Nicosia (X)
Laura Maria Nicosia (X)  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 14:58
English to Italian
+ ...
Nov 25, 2009

Dear all,

I am a young translator and I just got my first job as a freelance.

Although I'm very happy and excitedI have a problem. The agency asked me about my tariffs and I don't know how to answer them.

I know that you can have tariffs by word, page, hour, so how should I charge them??
I mean which is the bes way to establish your own tariffs???
And then also sometimes th
... See more
Dear all,

I am a young translator and I just got my first job as a freelance.

Although I'm very happy and excitedI have a problem. The agency asked me about my tariffs and I don't know how to answer them.

I know that you can have tariffs by word, page, hour, so how should I charge them??
I mean which is the bes way to establish your own tariffs???
And then also sometimes they ask you how many words you are able to translate per hour. To be hones I have no idea?

I would appreciate if you could give me any useful advice about this.

LAura NIcosia
Collapse

Inaki Alvarez
Inaki Alvarez
Spain
Local time: 15:58
English to Spanish
Rates Nov 25, 2009

Hi Laura,

In my combination (English into Spanish), I would say that anything from 0.09 €/word upwards. I charge 0.12 €/word for work in my fields.

Regarding the words per hour, that will take you sometime to figure it out. At the beginning you will probably work at a slower pace and eventually you will get more efficient. I can do about 2000/3000 words per day, if it is a technical document (long one) like a manual, I can do up to 4000 words.

Ah! and
... See more
Hi Laura,

In my combination (English into Spanish), I would say that anything from 0.09 €/word upwards. I charge 0.12 €/word for work in my fields.