Question about certification
Thread poster: ConversaIntl
ConversaIntl
ConversaIntl
English to Spanish
+ ...
Dec 7, 2004

Hi,
I'm new to proz and I am confused about certification. I have been told by some translators that there is no such thing as a certified translation--that instead there are translations that are notarized by a notary public. I have also been told that being an ATA member does not mean the translator is certified. It seems like there are so many different tests out there...
Can anyone clear this up for me? Any thoughts/suggestions would be helpful.

Ruxi
Ruxi
German to Romanian
+ ...
Trying to answer Dec 7, 2004

This is the reason I begged people to work and make How-to's for translation.
Question are continuously being asked.
Back to the question.
First of all it is a matter of the country. I don't know how it is in USA.
Certified means you have passed an examination and have been proofed to be a translator.You receive a translator certificate.
This can happen in a University or a specific institution.
On this site there is a list of institutions granting certificate
... See more
This is the reason I begged people to work and make How-to's for translation.
Question are continuously being asked.
Back to the question.
First of all it is a matter of the country. I don't know how it is in USA.
Certified means you have passed an examination and have been proofed to be a translator.You receive a translator certificate.
This can happen in a University or a specific institution.
On this site there is a list of institutions granting certificates in different countries including USA.
Now I am not so sure, but your translations are hereby certificated, if you sign them and also add your certificate number.
On the other hand there are sworn translators. They receive from the Court or a Ministry of Justice an authorisation to translate law documents (including notarial) and legalise them.