Help with unclean file request (non-Trados user)
Thread poster: Nicole Y. Adams, M.A.
Nicole Y. Adams, M.A.
Nicole Y. Adams, M.A.
Australia
Local time: 16:54
Member (2006)
German to English
+ ...
Mar 9, 2006

Hello,

This might be silly question but if a client asks for the unclean file (which was not agreed beforehand) after you have completed the translation, and you did it manually without CAT-Tool, as it was short and simple, and then imported source and target text into your CAT Tools TM, what are the options to help out the client?

I do not use Trados but Across, even though I am not an expert on it. Is there a way to get an unclean file out of the Across TM?

... See more
Hello,

This might be silly question but if a client asks for the unclean file (which was not agreed beforehand) after you have completed the translation, and you did it manually without CAT-Tool, as it was short and simple, and then imported source and target text into your CAT Tools TM, what are the options to help out the client?

I do not use Trados but Across, even though I am not an expert on it. Is there a way to get an unclean file out of the Across TM?

Alternatively they would accept an Excel file but I am uncertain what needs to be put in that as well?

As this is my first encounter with a request for an unclean file (as a non-Trados user), please bear with me.

Thanks in advance,

Nicole
Collapse

Rebecca Lowery
Rebecca Lowery  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 07:54
French to English
In trados you can winalign the source and target text Mar 9, 2006

I've never used Across so can't say if there is a similar feature but in Trados you can winalign the source and target text, this creates a .txt file and you can just send the txt file to the client who can then import that into their memory.