Thread poster: Rita Rocha
Rita Rocha
Rita Rocha
Portugal
Local time: 06:51
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Nov 12, 2005

Can anyone help me with these terminology? I'm a newbie in this subject, but I might begin working as a subtitler or a translator for subtitles. If I am asked to do a SDH Translation, what I am supposed to do? And what about QC Tiff and red checks? In my opinion it is by talking with professionals that we, the beginners, can learn most things and I have already learn a lot by reading this forum. You have been a great help.

lim0nka
lim0nka  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
English to Polish
SDH Nov 12, 2005

SDH stands for Subtitling for the Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing.

I have never heard of QC Tiff and Red Checks, but let's hope
someone knows what they are and how to deal with them.

Anetta

[Edited at 2005-11-12 20:15]

anulka
anulka  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 08:51
German to Polish
+ ...
QC Tiffs and red checks Nov 12, 2005

Rita Rocha wrote:

Can anyone help me with these terminology? I'm a newbie in this subject, but I might begin working as a subtitler or a translator for subtitles. If I am asked to do a SDH Translation, what I am supposed to do? And what about QC Tiff and red checks? In my opinion it is by talking with professionals that we, the beginners, can learn most things and I have already learn a lot by reading this forum. You have been a great help.

Hi Rita!

Seems like this terminology refers to Softitler (one of the subtitling companies).

QC Tiffs - After the file has been translated, proofed, and accepted by the translator, the file is converted into the final Image format that will be burned onto a DVD.