Company refuses to give its English name
Thread poster: casey
casey
casey  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 12:10
Japanese to English
Sep 28, 2007

I called a company just now and asked them to tell me their official company name in English. The operator told me she wasn't at liberty to divulge the information!!! What on earth? She asked me who I was and I told her I was a translator. I told her I was translating a document for one of the company's employees and she asked who. I told her that was personal information and I couldn't say, but could she please just tell me what the name of the company is? She simply refused. Is that bizarre or... See more
I called a company just now and asked them to tell me their official company name in English. The operator told me she wasn't at liberty to divulge the information!!! What on earth? She asked me who I was and I told her I was a translator. I told her I was translating a document for one of the company's employees and she asked who. I told her that was personal information and I couldn't say, but could she please just tell me what the name of the company is? She simply refused. Is that bizarre or what?

Just in case you're wondering, no, I did not call the wrong number. They answered the phone with the Japanese company name.

[Edited at 2007-09-28 02:37]

[Edited at 2007-09-28 02:52]
Collapse

KathyT
KathyT  Identity Verified
Australia
Local time: 02:10
Japanese to English
Maybe your dulcet tones are suspicious-sounding?? :-) Sep 28, 2007

Aaah, Casey, I sympathize.

But objectively, I could see why she might think it was a little suss.
You (understandably) didn't want to reveal which employee you were doing the translation for ( - can you not ask that person directly, btw?) and she might have panicked to hear that a translation "about the company" (for all she knows, even if in reality it's just a mention) was taking place without her/their knowledge.

I assume you already checked the bottom of their