Thread poster: Annazotova
Annazotova
Annazotova  Identity Verified
Local time: 23:52
English to Russian
+ ...
Sep 19, 2015

Hi there,

I'm new at this. For the past two months I've been responding to multiple project requests and had three bites so far: the first one offered a rate of $2.5 per page, which I declined, the second one rated my test assignment quite low and obviously did not want to work with me, the third one I still haven't heard from.
Now, I do have a 5 year degree in linguistics from a Russian University and my diploma does certify that I'm a translator, however I never really app
... See more
Hi there,

I'm new at this. For the past two months I've been responding to multiple project requests and had three bites so far: the first one offered a rate of $2.5 per page, which I declined, the second one rated my test assignment quite low and obviously did not want to work with me, the third one I still haven't heard from.
Now, I do have a 5 year degree in linguistics from a Russian University and my diploma does certify that I'm a translator, however I never really applied myself in this field, and I graduated in 2003. I do also have a degree in finance and am now working on my electrical engineering degree, so would like to focus on technical projects, which I understand best of all.
I would greatly appreciate any advice on how I could get over this entry barrier. Is there a certification that is helpful? Memberships, which would not break the bank? Events in New York area, where I live?

Thank you in advance!

Anna
Collapse

Soonthon LUPKITARO(Ph.D.)
Soonthon LUPKITARO(Ph.D.)  Identity Verified
Thailand
Local time: 10:52
English to Thai
+ ...
Contribution to the translation industry Sep 19, 2015

Annazotova wrote:

I would greatly appreciate any advice on how I could get over this entry barrier. Is there a certification that is helpful? Memberships, which would not break the bank? Events in New York area, where I live?

Anna