Numbers - best in Arabic Script or kept in English?
Thread poster: twl
twl
twl
Local time: 14:26
English to Arabic
+ ...
Aug 12, 2009

Hi everyone

I have a question regarding numbers in Arabic.
I am a Project Manager and we are doing a project from English into Arabic.
The question of numbering has come up.
Please bear in mind I do not speak Arabic, so my apologies if anything is obvious.

We have a sequence of paragraphs numbered:
... See more
Hi everyone

I have a question regarding numbers in Arabic.
I am a Project Manager and we are doing a project from English into Arabic.
The question of numbering has come up.
Please bear in mind I do not speak Arabic, so my apologies if anything is obvious.

We have a sequence of paragraphs numbered:

etc.

the translations were either kept as the original

etc

or reversed with a dash

2-1
3-1
1-2
2-2
1-3
2-3

etc

or put into full Arabic script.

What is the correct method?

Is it best to "localize" all numbers into Arabic script? (except product names with numbers but including phone numbers)

All advice welcome We need to be able to advise our client.

I look forward to your knowledgeable replies.
Collapse

Ghina
Ghina
United States
Local time: 09:26
English to Arabic
Keep the original format Aug 12, 2009

I'd say keep the original format, because reversing the numbers will lead to much confusion.

Samir Sami
Samir Sami
Qatar
Local time: 16:26
Arabic to English
+ ...
Keep them as formatted by Word Aug 12, 2009

Whatever the formatting was (in the original), I believe the reader (Arab or English) would understand the numbering if kept in the original format, especially if we are talking about a report here.

Arab readers are quite familiar with such numbering (1.2, 1.3). Indeed, I can say I find it in most reports or books here in the market. Dashing the numbers may reverse (harden) the readability. So leaving the Word numbering would do the trick, and I believe your audience would not be c
... See more