Is it normal and OK for a company to request a copy of a freelancer's identification?
Thread poster: Cleo Patch
Cleo Patch
Cleo Patch
Saudi Arabia
Local time: 21:15
English to Arabic
+ ...
Jan 27, 2017

I am a translator with 0 experience in working online so I don't know if it's ok for a company, to ask for a copy of my ID. Giving out a photocopy of my ID just seems too much (2 actually, one by mail and the other by email and to two different branches in two different continents). The rates they offer are lower than dirt but I need the experience.
What are your thoughts on this? And if its ok any tips on how to recognize scammers that are only looking to steal personal information or to
... See more
I am a translator with 0 experience in working online so I don't know if it's ok for a company, to ask for a copy of my ID. Giving out a photocopy of my ID just seems too much (2 actually, one by mail and the other by email and to two different branches in two different continents). The rates they offer are lower than dirt but I need the experience.
What are your thoughts on this? And if its ok any tips on how to recognize scammers that are only looking to steal personal information or to do something worse?

[Edited at 2017-01-27 06:02 GMT]

[Edited at 2017-01-27 13:39 GMT]
Collapse

Dylan J Hartmann
Dylan J Hartmann  Identity Verified
Australia
Member (2014)
Thai to English
+ ...

Put yourself in their shoes Jan 29, 2017

If you were about to hire someone online to complete a job for you, wouldn't you like to know who they were?

Get as much experience as you can before you go full time. It took me 2-3 years, it takes others less, others more.

Bernhard Sulzer
Bernhard Sulzer  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 14:15
English to German
+ ...
Some info for you Jan 29, 2017

Cleo Patch wrote:

What are your thoughts on this? And if its ok any tips on how to recognize scammers that are only looking to steal personal information or to do something worse?